Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for May 4th, 2010

Giving my arm time to heal means putting down the drumsticks and knitting needles and picking up the books.  I have been doing a lot of reading these last few weeks.  Yesterday it struck me how diverse my reading material has become.  The Persephone Book catalog arrived in the mail featuring reviews of books that take me back to a different time.  I have only read a few of these books but they are quite popular in the reading community these days.  Last night I went to hear Atul Gwande speak about health care and health reform.  Before the talk I picked up a copy of his newest book, The Checklist Manifesto: How to get things right.  I read his first book, Better: a surgeon’s notes on performance, a number of years ago and will tell you that this man is a great storyteller who has the capacity to make you think.  I look forward to starting this book as soon as I finish The Help.  The other books that arrived in my mailbox this week were my prize from the SOLC – an ABC book and a book about opposites from CincoPuntos Press.  Beautiful pictures!  Thanks again to Stacy and Ruth for a great challenge.  May your reading and writing bring you joy today.

Read Full Post »